Blindness

I think I’m blind…
Or at least I think I have been.

Blind to see what’s right in front of me.
Blind to the potential that I hold.
Blind to the kindness and generosity found in others.

I’ve always been a pretty independent human.
I’ve tried to do things on my own…
Make things happen…

I’ve told myself I don’t need other people.
I’ve told myself that I can do it on my own.
I’ve found out that I was wrong.

Life isn’t easy…
And doing it alone just isn’t an option.

When we attempt to do things on our own
We become blind to the gifts offered to us by others.

We miss out on their greatness…
We miss out on the increase that they can bring to our lives…
We miss out on the diamonds.

“Blindness isn’t a result of too little light – that’s darkness.  Blindness is when you are unable to see when there is light all around you.  Someone pointed out to me that a pebble and a diamond are alike to a blind man.  Perhaps I’ve been mistaking diamonds for pebbles all along.”  -Steven James

I don’t want to be blind anymore…

I want to see greatness in others.
I want to see greatness in me.
I want to see…

Leave a Reply

