Things That Could Have Been…

Some days I wake up and just lie in bed thinking…

In the quiet stillness of the morning…
Before the world gets noisy…
Before the coffee kicks in…
Just still…

I think about things that could have been.
Maybe some things that should have been…
How life is not anywhere close to what I thought it would be like.

But, I don’t stay in that frame of mind very long.
It can’t do anyone any good to stare at the past…
So, I turn around and look ahead.

I day-dream about what’s to come.
I shift from past, to present, to future…
I fill my thoughts with hope and wonder.

I imagine the good that can be done.
I envision the changes that can take place.
I hold to the idea that things can be better…

Things can be good…

Things can be great…

And we can be a part of the greatness.

Why not hope for more?
Why not dream bigger?
Why not?

Life isn’t what I thought it would be…
Life doesn’t even look like it once did…

But, there is a promise of more.
And I’m ready for it…

 

 

Leave a Reply

