Access Has Been Granted

I am not a construction worker.
I do not make a living building houses.
I can honestly say that I don’t want choose that as my next profession either.

However, over the last two weeks, I have remodeled my pantry.
(I would like to pause there for dramatic effect and a round of applause!)

In order to make the pantry look the way I wanted it to when I was done, I had to take out the existing door and move the opening to another wall.  Then I had to reconfigure the design of the shelving on the inside, redo the flooring, paint the walls, close up the hole from the original door opening, finish out the new opening, cut the new base boards, and tweak a few things here and there…

I’m sure to those seasoned contractors this probably sounds like a breeze…
2 days MAX…
That’s what I thought too.

Well, here I sit…
2 weeks after starting this project;
dreaming of the day when I won’t have saws, paint cans, bent nails and scrap pieces of wood all over my kitchen and living room floor.

I can, however, honestly say that I learned a lot.
Like,  a lot a lot!

The thing I think that stuck out to me the most was the process of removing the old opening and replacing it with a new one.

The way this pantry had always been…
Will no longer be.

The door I had always used to access the things I needed was no longer the way I would enter.  Now I would need to go a different way.

I’ve lived in this house for nearly 2 years.  So, to quickly change my routine was difficult at first.  But, I started to realized how much more convenient the new entrance is.  I began to use it without even attempting to go the old way and looking back now it gets harder for me to remember what it was like using the other door.

What use to be my only way…
What I use to never imagine my life without…
Has now become just a memory and a place I would never want to go back to.

Isn’t it funny how life works.
What we put up with for so long as the only way has quickly changed in just a few short days…
And now, is obsolete.

God is asking us to make some changes.
Changes that will require some hard work…
long hours…
and learning new things…

Maybe even a cut, scrape or a bruise every now and then…

But, when the job is done.
When we realize that there is an easier way.
That the access we have been granted gives way to more, increases our knowledge, and expands the space we already have…
Then we never want to go back to the way things use to be.

We have the opportunity to change our access point.
To open up the avenue of possibility…
To be changed, for the better, and forever!

So many times we think, “that’s how it’s always been.”
But, the good news is…
That’s not the way it has to always be.

Let’s expand our vision.
Let’s grow, shift, move and explore all that God has to offer.
Because, what was once “good enough”, will not cut it anymore.

The old door hasn’t just been shut.
It’s been removed, boarded up and refinished.
If you didn’t know it had been there you wouldn’t even know to ask about it.

It’s time for us to change our old habits.
Finish up the last minute details…
And move into our new space.

“Look, I’ve given you this land. Now go in and take it.”  Deuteronomy 1:8

Access has been granted.

Leave a Reply

